• FR
  • Inform me about new class actions

    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    Coming soon

    Bruce W. Johnston - Lawyer & Partner

    Bruce’s motto? If it’s a good cause, we can win the case. In court, Bruce is a true sniper. While he is an ace at cross-examination, as the experts of the tobacco companies can attest, he is also a world-class procrastinator. Fortunately for us, it is under the pressure of the “last minute” that his hunter’s instinct is sharpest and his flashes of genius often occur.

    An idealist like Don Quixote, Bruce has always had the instinct to defend those who need it. Unlike Don Quixote and fortunately for us, he knows how to win his cases, regardless of the area of law. Thus, when citizens of Sutton, anxious to protect the environment and the mountain, lost their case against the municipality, he pleaded the municipal law file pro bono on appeal and won. If abortions are now covered in private clinics in Quebec, it is because Bruce offered his help to Dr. Morgentaler in 2002. If IBM employees in Bromont received the pension benefits they were promised, it is because Bruce did not know enough about pensions law to know that the case was impossible to win. Yet, he won it.

    Holder of a degree in history, Bruce is interested in the lessons of the past and is concerned about the future. He reads at least forty books a year, which can cover topics as varied as linguistics, the First Nations or cognitive psychology. An explorer in every sense of the word, he accompanied a friend to the summit of Kilimanjaro in 2018 despite serious altitude sickness, persistent diarrhea and a freezing temperature. An anecdote that illustrates Bruce’s character: he is the most loyal friend in adversity.

    bruce@tjl.quebec
    514 871-8385 extension 202

• EN
  • Avisez-moi d'un nouveau recours collectif

    • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

    Bientôt disponible

    Bruce W. Johnston - avocat et associé

    La devise de Bruce ? Une bonne cause qui ne peut être gagnée n’existe pas. Devant la cour, Bruce est un tireur d’élite. S’il est un as du contre-interrogatoire, comme peuvent en attester les experts des compagnies de tabac, il est aussi le champion de la « dernière minute ». Heureusement pour nous, c’est sous pression que son instinct de chasseur s’éveille et que ses éclairs de génie surviennent.

    Idéaliste comme Don Quichotte, Bruce a toujours eu l’instinct de justicier pour les laissés-pour-compte de la société. Contrairement à Don Quichotte et heureusement pour nous, il sait gagner ses causes, peu importe le domaine de droit. Ainsi, lorsque des citoyens de Sutton soucieux de protéger l’environnement et la montagne ont perdu leur cause contre la municipalité, il a plaidé pro bono le dossier de droit municipal en appel et l’a gagné. Si les avortements sont aujourd’hui couverts en clinique privée au Québec, c’est parce que Bruce a offert son aide au Dr Morgentaler en 2002. Si les employés d’IBM à Bromont ont reçu les avantages de retraite qui leur avaient été promis, c’est parce que Bruce ne connaissait pas suffisamment le droit des régimes de retraite pour savoir que la cause était impossible à gagner. Pourtant, il l’a gagnée.

    Diplômé en histoire, Bruce s’intéresse au passé et se préoccupe de l’avenir. Il lit une quarantaine de livres par année qui peuvent porter sur des sujets aussi variés que la linguistique, les Premières Nations ou la psychologie du comportement. Explorateur dans tous les sens du terme, il a accompagné un ami jusqu’au sommet du Kilimandjaro en 2018 malgré un sérieux mal d’altitude, une diarrhée persistante et une température glaciale. Une anecdote qui illustre bien le caractère de Bruce : c’est l’ami le plus loyal dans l’adversité.

    bruce@tjl.quebec
    514 871-8385 poste 202